The Making Of….A Cake Toy

June 17, 2008

Spring and summer is prime wedding season – I know because I can never drive by a church on the weekends these days without seeing a wedding taking place. Anyway, that got me thinking about what I love most about weddings – the wedding cake, of course! In fact, if you haven’t guessed by now, the Room Candy Lemon Buttercream Rosette Cake is fashioned very much like a wedding cake:

It didn’t quite start out that way, though. The original idea was to make a fruit cake with white frosting. Here was the first sample made:

Yeah, it’s too yellow. Here’s version 2.0:

Now the cake looked too…pale? Here were my actual notes that I e-mailed back to my factory:

The third version with the pink on the outside still didn’t look right (I lost the picture – darn!), so I decided to go back to the drawing board and rethink the design. The “fruit” toppings were not cutting it, but I still needed something with color on top to balance out the cream fabric. Something pink…like a rose? Then it hit me – a wedding cake! Oh, I was so happy, I actually got up from my computer and did a little jig (the one where you kick one foot in the air sideways followed by the other foot; tapping the heels in midair. Repeat on the other side.). So finally, here’s the fourth version of the cake:

Now you know – just like real life baking, it may take a few tries to make plush cakes look right!

Hope you enjoyed this behind-the-scenes look at our toys!

Linny

www.room-candy.com

Room Candy – always yummy!

Leave a Reply

