Sweet Strawberry Snacks

July 6, 2008

I was grocery shopping in my local Asian supermarket a couple of days ago and came across Pocky, a type of Japanese snack consisting of a thin pretzel-like stick covered in a light coating of strawberry cream. Gosh, I used to eat a ton of these (especially the chocolate version one) when I was little, so I couldn’t resist picking up a box. I noticed other variations of the strawberry snack on the shelf, so I thought I’d conduct my own tasting test. Here’s the lot of :

Let’s break it down, shall we? First is the traditional Pocky in strawberry, along with a more textured version with strawberry bits. Kinda like choosing between orange juice with pulp or with no pulp.

Then we have a fish shaped pretzel puff with strawberry filling. Is it just me, or does this look like a more tanned version of a Pepperidge Farm goldfish cracker?

And last but not least, we have a wafer cone-like thing with some sort of strawberry filling. The package also contains the vanilla and chocolate version, so what the heck – I’ll try those out as well.

Look how pretty the packaging is for each individual cone! You know me – I’m a big sucker for good packaging, so the company gets automatic brownie points for that!

Here’s what they look like out of the box.

The original pink Pocky is just as I remembered it – savory and sweet and tart all at the same time. Pure yumminess! The pulpy version with the strawberry bits didn’t taste much different except for the grainy texture. Eh, not a big fan. Onto the goldfish strawberry pretzel snack. When I tried it, I’m a little disappointed that the pretzel is not as crunchy as I expected it to be, and there is a strange aftertaste to the strawberry cream. Maybe I got a stale batch, but I’m not too particularly impressed. The wafer cone one had a nice and light airy texture as I bit into it, and the thick fudge-like filling was rather sweet but otherwise tasted good. I guess it’s like eating a mini ice cream cone with strawberry fudge instead of ice cream. So the final verdict? Call me old fashioned, but I think I’ll stick to my original Strawberry Pocky. It may be an oldie, but still a goodie!

Linny

www.room-candy.com

Room Candy – always yummy!

Leave a Reply

