Cake Soup

July 15, 2008

I had a major meltdown today. It was tragic, and I don’t know quite how to recover from it.

You see, I went to Porto’s Bakery in Burbank today and bought a few cakes specifically to take pictures for this blog…what? You’ve never heard of Porto’s Bakery? Oh, it’s a typical bakery fairy tale come true – Mama Rosa Porto started selling cakes and pies from her house to help pay the bills, and the woman must really know how to make yummy food because 35 years later, Porto’s Bakery is a well-known local institution with two huge locations in Glendale and Burbank. The place is well known for its Cuban sandwiches and its staggering bakery selection (the bakery counter in Burbank looks like it’s 50 feet long), but being the sugar-loving gal that I am, I’m all about the cakes. Most of the cakes there are mousse-based, but they’re all very good and very affordable ($2.50 each). So back to my story. I got five cakes from the counter and even told the girl helping me that I wanted the “pretty” looking ones because I was taking pictures of the cakes (she gave me a blank look and discreetly rolled her eyes – I can’t blame her!). I chose the following – Pina Colada, Triple Chocolate Mousse, Italian Cheesecake, Mango Mousse, and Chocolate Raspberry Mousse. Got into my car and promptly flipped the small box with the Italian Cheesecake upside down. Aaargh! Oh well, there goes one – at least I still have four cakes left to photograph.

Between the bakery and my house, I decided to run some quick errands and stopped by the bank and the post office. Every time I parked my car, I would look down at the box of cakes and gave the box a little reassuring pat. Patience, my lovelies. And each time I checked, they looked as pristine as they do in the bakery case. The disaster happened between the post office and the ride to the house. Apparently, mousse cakes + summer heat + erratic driving = eventual MAJOR MELTDOWN! By the time I parked my car in my driveway, the cakes have oozed and swayed into four globby pudding like masses. See for yourselves.

Can we say, Cake Soup? The top two (from left to right) are the Pina Colada and the Mango Mousse. The bottom two (from left to right) are the Triple Chocolate Mousse and the Chocolate Raspberry Mousse. The cake that took the full brunt of the summer heat is the Mango Mousse, which in its original form is a perfect dome shaped concoction with a single raspberry and a leaf placed delicately atop the cake. As you can see, it’s “melted” into a pool.

The Triple Espresso Chocolate Mousse was partially saved by the plastic covering, but look closely and you’ll see that it had oozed out from the bottom into the box. The remaining two looked the best on the photo, but in real life, they were also quite smooshed.

Oh well, no point crying over spilled cake. On the bright side, this gives me a really good excuse to go back to the bakery and buy another batch of cakes. And this time, I’ll buy two of each kind. Just to be on the safe side.

As for this current box, I’m just going to stick it in the fridge to set and declaring it as a cake fusion made up of four different flavored cakes. It’s now a giant Pinango Chocberry Mousse Cake!

Linny

www.room-candy.com

Room Candy – always yummy!

Leave a Reply

