There’s Always Room For Jello!

July 19, 2008

We usually ship out orders from the company warehouse, but I frequently use my post office in San Marino for international shipments and have gotten to know pretty much all the staff there. So I stopped by the post office today on the way home to ship off a package for Canada, and was greeted by Helen behind the counter.

“Hello, Candy!” she chirped. That’s Helen’s nickname for me. Now, for those of you who don’t know Helen, she is a petite little Asian lady who’s probably 4′ 10″ on a good day, but has enough spunk and zest for ten people twice her size. Helen’s the living definition of “joie de vivre”, and always makes a point to treat every customer like they are her favorite relative. Our city’s post office is probably the only one with pens that each has a huge fake flower taped onto the tip so that they look like a bouquet of flowers in a can (and she changes them according to seasons!) just because it’s Helen’s way of brightening up the place. Needless to say, I just adore her.

“Nothing much, Helen. Just finishing up the day.” I replied.

“So, Candy, do you eat Jello?” she asked casually as she weighed my package.

“Of course…”

“I made some Thai style Jello with milk and brought it with me to work today for the staff. Wanna try some?”

“It’s okay, Helen, I’m on a diet..” I chuckled.

“No, no…you wait here!”, and off she went to the back room while the printer is printing out my receipt. A minute later, she emerged triumphantly with two styrofoam bowls cupped on top of each other to keep the jello secure, snapped a rubber band around the container and handed it to me with an ear-to-ear grin. How could I say no to that? I thanked her profusely and took the container. “Have a great weekend, Candy!” she called out to me as I left.

When I got home, I opened up the container and poured the contents into a cup expecting to see chunky pieces of jello floating in milk. This is what I got instead.

Hello, what do we have here? Methinks there are longans and jackfruit slices in this sweet concoction as well! See that round shaped ball-like fruit floating on top?

That round thing is a longan fruit. If you’ve never tried longans before, they’re a round crunchy fruit that’s quite sweet, with a big pit in the center. There are canned longans available in Asian supermarkets, and I’ve even seen some in the “Asian Food” aisle of my local supermarket.

Picture credit: wikipedia, USDA

Judging from the perfect shape of the fruit, Helen used canned longans for her dessert, which suits me just fine because I actually prefer canned longans to fresh longans.

And the yellow pieces in the middle are the jackfruit slices. I love the green hue of the sliced jello strips – it reminds me of the green you see on a kiwi. I gotta say, Helen has a great eye for color because that’s one great looking jello dessert!

As I’m writing this post, the Thai style jello dessert is long gone and gone to my belly. Yes, it was very good! All that crunchy and sweet fruits and slippery jello mixed together in a cool, sweet milky soup was very refreshing. I think I’ll have to recreate this dessert for myself soon! Thanks for starting off my weekend on such a sweet note, Helen!

Linny

www.room-candy.com

Room Candy – always yummy!

Leave a Reply

