Made By Hand

August 4, 2008

I love crafting, and back in the day when I actually had free time, I used to do a myriad of crafts such as cross-stitching, crotchet (very badly), and making hand sewn heart plushes. So you can imagine my excitement when I got to know Nanuk, crafter extraordinarie. Nanuk, who lives in Indonesia, create a line of hand sewn felt plushes which are just out of this world. I immediately placed an order for about 100 styles late last year, and only got my shipment a couple of weeks ago as these plushes are extremely labor intensive. Here are some of my favorites:

Ice cream plush charms – in three flavors! What’s even more amazing is that these ice cream plush charms measure only 3″. You really have to see it in person to really appreciate all the details of the plush, but here is the orange sorbet ice cream plush in my hand just to give you an idea of the size of these plush charms.

So cute I can just eat it up!

More ice cream!

Candy, anyone?

And here are some of Nanuk’s animal felt plushes. Keep in mind that all these plushes are only about 2″ to 3″ tall. You need a really steady hand to cut out the even tinier felt pieces that make up these plush charms!

This elephant is holding onto a banana. Talking about bananas, here’s a monkey with a bunch of bananas.

Bananas translate really well into a plush because they are sunny yellow in color and so happy looking.

I am going bananas! Here’s a little bit of Indonesian trivia: over there, a very popular snack is deep fried bananas (pisang goreng) – you basically take bananas slices, dip them in flour batter and deep fry them until they are puffy and golden. So good! And worth every calorie!

Okay, enough with the bananas, there are more cute plushes I want to share with you.

This lion plush is holding onto a felt burger. You can’t really see it from the picture, but trust me when I say that the mini felt burger has the necessary layers of lettuce, tomato, and beef patty sandwiched between a sesame seed bun (the seeds were hand sewn onto the bun)!

Hooters! There is also a version of this owl felt plush where the eyes are shut.

These charms are just so “deer” to me!

Whatcha looking at, panda? If you notice, the eyes on a lot of these plush charms are actually black caviar beads.

You can dance, you can jive…diggin’ the dancing penguin! Yes, I love ABBA!

Mama koala with baby koala. Awwww!

Oh, there are so many more, but I’m not quite done taking pictures of them all. You can check out the collection here on Room Candy, or our sister site Vivi 99 Chic. We are feverishly adding these new charms onto the site, so if you can’t find the style that you like, do check back in a couple of days.

Linny

www.room-candy.com

Room Candy – always yummy!

Leave a Reply

