Ode To The Olympics

August 11, 2008

Unless you’ve been living under a rock for the past three days, you must have caught bits and pieces of the Beijing Olympic Games opening ceremony. Can I just say – WOW!! I’ve been to China many times before, so I can attest to the sheer number of people over there and the organizers having the resources to get 14,000 performers to do all the theatrics that you saw during the opening ceremony, but the scope and magnitude to which they performed the routines were just out of this world!

The Room Candy version of the Olympic Rings, with our own Animal Ring dog toys. Too bad I don’t have a green animal ring – darn!

The one routine that I particularly loved was the one where they had 2008 martial artists perform various tai chi moves while maintaining a perfect circle. At first, I was thinking, “Yeah, they’re doing slow moves, so it can’t be that hard.”, and then I ate my own words soon after when the martial artists started to progress to moves that included high kicks and twists and who-knows-what-else-but-it-looks-cool! moves at lightning speed, running back and forth on the field but magically still maintaining the perfect human circle. With no markers on the floor! So I tried to do the same thing today with our pink puppy love toy and see how many I can position in that same circle by free hand.

First, here is a picture of the original formation done during the ceremony. Now this is my version of the circle with our puppy love toy.

Huddle around, puppies!

Crop circles?

I did this on my living room floor until I ran out of space, and half an hour later, I could only fit 72 puppy love toys in the circle formation. Imagine having 2008 people doing this in real time!

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go and do my nightly TV marathon (for the next 2 weeks) of watching the Olympics coverage.  I love the Olympics!


Linny

www.room-candy.com

Room Candy – always yummy!

Leave a Reply

