Paint By Numbers

August 16, 2008

Back in the day when I was going to school in Singapore, we would have mandatory arts & crafts classes which were great because it’s basically a scheduled hour of playing with colored crayons/pencils/paints and enjoying one’s creative side. I don’t know why companies don’t do a mandatory “arts & crafts” hour with their employees once in a while – maybe it’ll cut down on employees’ stress levels! By the way, at Room Candy, I usually take the crew out for a nice meal every so often because that’s how we lower our stress levels. Especially if there is dessert to look forward to at the end of the meal. :)

Talking about arts & crafts, these are Paint By Numbers kits I found at Michael’s (only $1 each!), so I thought I’ll make an afternoon activity out of it.

Puppies and kittens!

You even get a practice paper to perfect your brush strokes!

So I gathered up my bowl of water, popped in a movie into the DVD player, and was all gung ho about creating a mini poster of a puppy.

Look, it’s my Martha Stewart moment!

….fifty-five minutes later….

Okay, I give up! The problem with this activity was not the paint by numbers part, it’s just that for $1, the paint that comes with the kit ain’t exactly easy to paint with. The plain water could not really dissolve the glob of dried up paint no matter how hard I agitate the paint glob with a toothpick, not even when I tried using hot water.

Let me start over. I was mulling painting the puppy with crayons, but at this point, this art project is more complicated than it is relaxing! Let’s see, what’s relatively easy to draw? How about our cherry toy?

Forget the bowl of cherries, I’m just going to do that one cherry by itself!

Step 1: Get yummy colored crayons

Step 2: Draw outline of cherry and fill in primary colors

Step 3: Use darker colors for shading and experiment with different colors to make the drawing pop

You can see I kind of screwed up the shape of the second cherry, but no worries, I will redeem this drawing with a happy background and an authentic signature!

Ta-da! It’s real art imitating a “fake” cherry toy that’s imitating a real cherry – it’s the circle of art!

Linny

www.room-candy.com

Room Candy – always yummy!

Leave a Reply

