From Indonesia With Love – Part 2

September 24, 2008

Alternative title: From Singapore’s Changi Airport With Love

Whenever I go back to Indonesia, I usually fly on Singapore Airlines because it usually means a quick stopover in Singapore. I myself spent six years in Singapore for school in my tween years, so I am rather fond of the country. For those of you who are unfamiliar with Singapore, it is a tiny little island of a country nestled between Malaysia and Indonesia, and is primarily known for three things – shopping, food and being “clean and green”. Not surprisingly, Singapore’s Changi Airport is an excellent representation of the country – rows and rows of high-end stores, food choices galore and even a little greenery along the way. My stopover was only 2 hours long, so it did not leave me much time to go shopping. I did make a quick stop to Toast Box, a local coffee establishment known for its Kopi O (black coffee) and Kaya Toast. Kaya is a jam made up of (roughly in equal parts) egg yolks, sugar and coconut milk. Definitely not for the faint of heart and those watching their waistlines! Kaya Toast is a sandwich made with two slices of grilled thick white bread, a generous heaping of kaya jam, and a thick pad of cold butter. I call it Heaven In A Bun, because when you bite down on it, you get (in order of taste/texture): crunch, pillowly soft bread, caramelly-coconuty jam and then salty melting butter! Sorry folks, I gobbled that thing down so fast I didn’t even think of snapping a picture! I did, however, manage to snap some pictures of the “green” part of the Changi Airport.

Here’s the Orchid Garden complete with a Koi pond.

Tiki The Monkey posing amongst a bloom of orchids. Singapore’s national flower is the orchid, and the country is also a prolific exporter of orchids.

Tiki gave the Orchid garden a big thumbs up!

I also saw a Fern Garden on the map which was located on the other side of the airport, so I’ll stop by that one during my next stopover.

I thought I was done with the tour of the airport and took a quick bathroom break en route to my gate, and lo and behold – tucked away behind the terminal and right in front of the restroom was a Butterfly Garden!


So surreal! I walked into an indoor garden and was immediately surrounded by hundreds of fluttering butterflies. There were quite a few species, but a majority of them were these JUMBO-sized butterflies that were literally the size of my outstretched palm.

Butterflies snacking on designated “flower stations”.

Told you these butterflies were gigantic!

It was so ridiculously easy to take shots like this when you’re surrounded by hundreds and hundreds of butterflies! I just checked on Singapore’s Changi Airport website and read that the Butterfly Garden was a newly opened attraction, which explained why there were only a handful of people in the enclosure including myself. All of us in the room kept giving each other incredulous looks because we all couldn’t believe that such a dreamy environment could exist within an airport. I noticed too that all of us were walking extra slow around the garden because we didn’t want to accidentally smash into a passing butterfly.

You can’t really tell from this picture, but that is a man made waterfall by the side of the garden. So cool!

Another butterfly feeding station with sliced pineapples.

Never mind the shopping and the eating spots, I’d say that just by the existence of the Butterfly Garden alone, I declare Singapore’s Changi Airport to be the coolest airport in the world!

Extra yummy: Talking about pineapples, I took a day trip to Bogor during my stay in Indonesia and came across these mini pineapples.

Them pineapples are the same size as those butterflies I saw at the Butterfly Garden! So cute! Bogor is a relatively small city known for its National Park and the large population of deer roaming all throughout the park. We didn’t have time to visit the park, but ran into this mini deer garden on our way to a restaurant.

Is that you, Bambi?

They look just like our deer cell phone charms!

Linny

http://www.room-candy.com

Room Candy – always yummy!

Leave a Reply

