HH Backer Pet Trade Show

October 7, 2008

Every year, I participate in an industry trade show called the H.H. Backer Pet Show in Chicago, IL, and this year was no exception. For me, doing a trade show is similar to going to boot camp – it’s five days of very intense packing, unpacking, setting up, chatting with hundreds of people, furious scribbling, and more packing at the end of it all. It’s tiring as heck, but so much fun, though! Since I had my camera with me, I took some pictures of my booth for those of you retailers that couldn’t make the show last weekend.

Can you tell it’s a garden theme? :) It’s also a happy coincidence that the yellow spotlight that shone from the ceiling made the booth look like it’s a sunny day out.

I have to confess, I am such a procrastinator when it comes to planning these trade shows, I always drive myself crazy a couple weeks leading up to the trade show scrambling to get all the booth fixtures and materials (toys, beds) ready. I got my idea for the garden theme thanks to these wonderful tissue paper pom poms by Martha Stewart that I saw at Walmart.

Who knew you can get these fluffy looking floral pom poms just from a stack of thin colored paper? Beauty does come at a price, because it took me a good two hours to separate out the paper layers to get all five pom poms up. A few feet of fake grass turf, a lawn table and fold up chairs, and I’m all set for the show. If I weren’t so much in a rush, I would have also packed myself a straw brim hat and a pair of sunglasses to really complete the look!

Front view of booth. In the past, I had my dessert style dog toys on a cake platter, but kept it simple this year and put everything up on a peg board. Notice something new? Why yes, it’s our new Xmas-themed donut toys!

I know it’s only October, but it’s never too early to start planning for Christmas! If you need to stock up these toys for your stores, they are already in stock and ready to ship.

Talking about donut toys, the booth directly across from me were the folks from Rockin’ Doggie, and their two french bulldogs Louie and Lulu were just darling. Here’s Lulu having a field day with our pink donut toy.

She was a real pro at finding all three squeakers in the toy!

A girl needs a nap after all this sugar rush!

Jelly donut beds and hand knit toys.

Our new JUMBO toys. That Millie caterpillar toy is so long, it took up the whole width of the rack!

Our talking poodles, our rattling unicorn toys and our big head toys.

Sea animals and jungle toys. I usually sell my samples at the end of the show, and the first ones to go were the jungle toys and the shark toys. I guess I’m not the only one who’s a fan of the National Geographic and Discovery channel. :)

Our small dog toys all fit neatly in a rack. Needless to say, our toys have grown exponentially in both selection and size!

Extra yummy: We are honoring our show special until the end of the month, so give us a call at the office to find out which toys/beds qualify for the show special pricing.

Linny

www.room-candy.com

Room Candy – always yummy!

Leave a Reply

